Mob Rule

Oct 24, 2021    Dustin Daniels

Jesus’s trial included two major phases, the Jewish trial and the Gentile trial.

Both of these trials consist of three parts.

The Jewish trial composed of Jesus appearing before:

Annas who was known as the High Priest Emeritus (John 18:13–24),

then Caiaphas, the High Priest at the time

The Sanhedrin, which is a collection of all the religious leaders. (Mark14:53–65; cf. Matt. 26:57–68; Luke 22:54),

From there, He was sent to the secular authorities, which are the Romans.

Jesus stood before Pilate (Mark 15:1–5; cf. Matt. 27:11–14; Luke 23:1–5; John 18:28–38),

King Herod Antipas (Luke 23:6–12),

and then Pilate again with the court of public opinion. (Mark 15:6–15; cf. Matt. 27:15–26; Luke 23:13–25; John 18:33–19:16).

Jesus faces six trials—and is presumed guilty in each one.

So that’s the big picture, now let’s get specific.

Mark Gospel will focus on the second part of the Jewish trial—so the major players today are Jesus, Caiphas, the Sanhedrin, and a little bit of Peter.

If you like the TV show Law and Order, you are going to love today’s episode!